Going Through the Stages Of Yaoi!!!

Have you ever heard of the 7 stages of grief? Yeah I know, what a light-hearted way to start off but I swear I’m going somewhere with this. Fujoshi like myself, go through our own little stages too. Some might be different from others, but I like to think we go through relatively similar stages.

I can’t remember exactly how old I was when I discovered yaoi, but let’s just say I was young enough (lol). I’m also not sure if this was definitely my first time seeing it either, but if not, I’ll change it if I remember.
So, there goes little innocent ol’ me, browsing YouTube, looking at some anime stuff or whatever, and I come across this video. I’ve never clicked on this video before, but I kept seeing it on YouTube for some reason. It didn’t even look interesting. It just had a thumbnail of a bed and that was it. So, I finally clicked on it. It was let’s play of a BL game called Dramatical Murder. OK, WHY did it just have to be on a part where they were doing leap frog and twister on the freaking bed?!?!(;一_一) R.I.P my young innocence I guess… I just wanna say how concerned I am on how easily I even found that! It’s not even like I was on anything dirty! I was probably just looking for my favorite character, Levi from AOT! Imagine how easily some other kid could’ve found that! And it was uncensored! (´・-・`)

So, this is where my stages kicked in for me.

#1. Shock/Disbelief

Yeah… I don’t see why anyone wouldn’t be shocked if they had seen what I had seen. Pixelated sausage links.

#2. Disgust and Rejection

Yes, what I saw disgusted me. I was kinda like, “OH MY GOD WHY ARE THEY DOING THIS!!” Plus it was my first time seeing “that,” so yeah… I vowed to never watch it again…ever! (And we all know how that turned out lol ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.) Which leads to my next stage!

#3. Curiosity

This is basically the stage that sealed my fate. Have you watched someone do a review of a bad anime or movie and they tell you never watch it but you do anyways? Well, no one ever told me to stay away from yaoi because I never knew what it was. BUT I COULDN’T STOP WATCHING!!! I probably covered my eyes a little, though (つд⊂). The voices! The…sounds! It’s like the first time I listened to ASMR. Absolute cringe.

#4. Binge Watching

I watched the rest of the DMMD Let’s Plays and all the wonderfulness they had to offer.

#5. Acceptance

Step 1. NEVER tell your mom

Step 2. Know you’re now a bigger weirdo than you already thought you were.

Step 3. Tell your friends how much you love yaoi whether they like it or not. (Well, at least that’s what I did. That’s how I coped when I realized I was utter trash.)

#6. OBSESSION!!!

Now that I’m older, and have pretty much seen and know everything and anything yaoi related, this obsession has died down a little. I can now go a full 2-4 days without watching yaoi (If I tried but I don’t). Before it was  (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ “EVERYTHING IS YAOI, EVERYTHING IS GAY, AND I NEED TO POINT IT ALL OUT!!!” I’ll probably never stop watching it now…

#7. Finding People Like Me!

Do you know how happy I get when I when I find weirdos like me?! Where we can fangirl together over the internet?! Plus it’s awesome when information I didn’t know is shared with me through others. The lengths fangirls go to get what they want is astounding. God I love it!

#8. Sailing My Ships!

Doesn’t matter if they’re from the same show or not! Just do it! I like to make up my own characters and ship them with characters from my favorite animes, otome games, and visual novels. (I literally have a YouTube playlist titled “Trash Bin” dedicated to my life source: yaoi, and anime guys)

Yaoi has greatly changed my life. For better and worst sometimes. I have an entirely different story right here about what it’s like being a fangirl. Now I’m listening to all of these BL audios, playing all of these BL games, watching all of these yaoi animes (stares intensely at Yuri On Ice.)  Please tell me your stories about being a fujoshi! What stages did you go through? X3 Also, do you fangirls wanna here about a cool yaoi game coming out soon? I found this game in development called Seiyuu Danshi (this is not an endorsement I just love this game) Please go look it up and download the free demo! Be warned, only hardcore fujoshi should play because this game has them doing errythang!!

Thanks and please comment and like. Or don’t Idc. X3

4 thoughts on “Going Through the Stages Of Yaoi!!!

Add yours

  1. This is one of the most amusing fujoshi posts I have read in a long time, gave me a good giggle as I remember a more innocent me (yes I was innocent once) going through these stages and you are right once you hit curiosity your fate with the fandom is sealed. Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

